I love it, when a plan comes together

I especially “love it” when there’s no plan but it ends up looking like one…Here’s a Christmas story.

CIRCA 1980:

My friend Pauline gave me a box of outdoor Christmas lights. They were the old fashioned, huge, multi-coloured, much used lights, and I wasn’t having them anywhere near the house in case they caught fire. However, (I always have a “however” in my life)  I wanted to put them up somewhere outside.

The perfect candidate, was a small  pine tree on the far left of the yard near the BBQ which had a source of electricity. My husband strung the lights, against his better judgment…sure that they would burn the tree down, or at least cost a fortune in power (which they did).

Snow fell all around it,  dabbled the branches in white and the coloured lights burned through the snow. It was quite a sight. Friends called to tell me that they loved the little tree “in the forest”. From the road, it was odd and alone in the dark.

The following summer, I found it’s real purpose. My neighbor, a 80-ish lady living alone, told me how delighted she was to look out her kitchen window and see that beautiful little Christmas tree sparkling in the darkness.

Needless to say, year after year, we were happy to dig out those lights and recreate the scene, just for her.

Leave a Reply

