CENTRAL PATRICIA GOLD MINES, AERIAL PHOTOS

I received these aerial photos from Dolories Tremblay Weston who lived in Central Pat until 1951.

Just click on the photo to get a larger version

DSCF5500

DSCF5501 DSCF5499

8 Responses to “CENTRAL PATRICIA GOLD MINES, AERIAL PHOTOS”

  1. Narda Brooks Says:

    Oh my gosh.
    Thank you So Much for posting these pictures, Patti. They have stirred up a big longing for connection to my homeland, I will look at these many, many times and conjure up the memories– good and tragic– of my childhood. I am forever heartbroken that I didn’t have more time in Central Patricia, more time to finish my life there.

    • littlepatti Says:

      I feel that we were “gifted” by that life. I lived in 15 more mining towns after The Pat and they were all much the same and just wonderful in retrospect. I haven’t continued that life though. I have lived in the same little town, same house for the past 42 years. (yes! I’m pretty old now!) …just 45 minutes from Montreal. I like the city too, but not to come home to. I think my strength, courage and resilience, and my confidence all came as a result of living in those towns in the northland.
      Bless you!
      Pat

  2. Joyce Brooks Harasemchuk Says:

    My thanks to my sister Narda for sending these on to me. I remember most of what’s in the photos. I lived there from the age of 7 to 21. My father moved I and my brothers in the summer of 1955 from Crowshore Patricia to Central Patricia. He was hired to help dismantle the mine property.

  3. Terrence Hryniuk Says:

    Thanks Patti, the pictures are available at the Pickle Lake municipality office at a small cost with of course good black and white resolution. terry hryniuk

  4. Clarke Hermance Says:

    I was a young boy living in Central Patricia from ca. 1937-1942, born in late 1936. I’ve heard stories about gold bricks being stored on the porch of the General Store for decades. Does anybody have confirmation of this, or any pictures of such storage?

    Does anybody have knowledge of Donny Ward or Larry Barrett, and any email contact information?

  5. Clarke Hermance Says:

    A further comment: We lived in a CPGM tract house, near the river and adjacent to the then town hospital (’37-’42?) after which we moved to the USA as my father was an American, working in the CPGM.. Another acquaintance was a young girl, Wendy Angus. I started 1st Grade in the school in CP. A major happening, aside from troops of Indian families traipsing past our house ( “Bijou”!) was the passage of a D2 Caterpillar Tractor. I fished for Pike in the river near our house, off the swimming dock, and watched the “ice mining” before “break-up” in the Spring.. Does this account ring any memory bells to anyone? Please email a reply, if so!

    • littlepatti Says:

      Hi Clarke,
      You were an earlier settler at the Pat. No doubt my parents would have known yours there at the time. What courage those young families had, to move to “isolation”, and have babies there, and get their lives started under the most difficult situations. They didn’t see it that way.
      It was an adventure! I suspect the storage of gold bars was true. How else would the gold be stored during breakup and freeze up. Early on, air was the only way in and out.
      I hope that some read your questions and contact you. Did you see the aerial photos of the town further on in the blog, and some more photos.
      All the best!
      Pat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

