Quebec beware: “The Charter of Values” has been tried before. “Pur Laine” has been tried before.

When the Nazis came for the communists, I remained silent; I was not a communist.
When they locked up the social democrats, I remained silent; I was not a social democrat.
When they came for the trade unionists, I did not speak out; I was not a trade unionist.
When they came for the Jews, I remained silent; I wasn’t a Jew.
When they came for me, there was no one left to speak out.

  • First they came…” – The origins of this poem first have been traced to a speech given by Niemöller on January 6, 1946, to the representatives of the Confessing Church in Frankfurt.

One Response to “Quebec beware: “The Charter of Values” has been tried before. “Pur Laine” has been tried before.”

  1. Lloyd C Says:

    When I was a child growing up in Malartic, Quebec in the late 40’s I remember the pastors of the local Baptist churches in both Malartic and Vald’Or would preach on occasional Friday evenings in summertime from empty lots on the main streets of their respective towns. The pastor from Malartic was a Rev Hurtubuise and in Vald’Or it was Rev Heron. They, their wives and a few parishioners would get arrested by the police for “disturbing the peace” and thrown in jail, usually over the weekend. No one except for a few fellow Baptists, spoke up to defend them. At one point the Rev Heron spent months in jail because he was a “repeat offender.” For preaching the Christian faith! Yet, whenever the Catholics held a religious parade (with pomp and splendour) the townspeople showed up in droves to witness the festive occasions.

    So, religious and ethnic intolerance is not a new thing in Quebec. Nor is the silence of the (I hope) majority. It has been ingrained in the psyche of many of our fellow citizens for years and years. Back then, I was a small child and didn’t know right from wrong about such things, If anyone doubts this story I would be pleased to provide links to the Vald’Or Star archives that reported on these events. The revisionists have not managed to erase them – yet.

    And no, I’m not Baptist – just a Quebecois with a good memory and a conscience witnessing a “deja-vu” with all this Charter crap.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

